The M. Stanley Ryan Unit of parliamentarians was founded by M. Stanley Ryan. His book can be found for cheap, used on Amazon:

M. Stanley Ryan Unit Charter Members

  • Mr. John Bridgeman*
  • Mrs. Pauline Evansha*
  • Mr. Paul Jacobi*
  • Mr. H. Clen Johnson*
  • Mrs. Katherine F. Johnson*
  • Mrs. Doris E. Kean*
  • Mr. Arthur L. Merkle*
  • Mrs. Malpha M. Ryan*
  • Col. M. Stanley Ryan*
  • Mr. Rex Tillotson*
  • Mr. Stran Trout* (March 2022)

M. Stanley Ryan Unit Past Presidents

  • Col. M. Stanley Ryan 1974-1976*
  • Mr. Paul Jacobi*
  • Mrs. Doris E. Kean*
  • Mrs. Malpha M. Ryan*
  • Mrs. Katherine F. Johnson*
  • Mr. Theodore M. Conte
  • Dr. Emory Thomas
  • Mr. Thaddeus T. Mudd*
  • Mrs. Randolph Green*
  • Mr. Dennis G. Merrill
  • Mr. Alan T. Knowles
  • Mr. Larry J. Prickett
  • Mr. Paul A. Jacobi*
  • Mr. David L. Avery
  • Mrs. Annie Thornton* (2021)
  • Mrs. Jonnie Smith
  • Mr. Nelson Negaard*
  • Mrs. Phyllis Booth
  • Mrs. Marian Martin
  • Mr. Fred Vann Jr.
  • Mrs. Pat Ryan Ashlaw*
  • Mrs. Rhiannon Liker
  • Mrs. Marian Martin
  • Mrs. Sala Powell-Dabney

About M. Stanley Ryan

Based in Richmond, Virginia, M. Stanley Ryan was a professional registered parliamentarian with the National Association of Parliamentarians (NAP). He was also a certified professional parliamentarian with the American Institute of Parliamentarians. He was a consultant, lecturer, and instructor of parliamentary procedure – one of the few to hold a certificate of proficiency as an accredited teacher for NAP. In addition to the M. Stanley Ryan unit, he also was a founder and past president of the Virginia Alpha Unit of Registered Parliamentarians. He was selected to write the fifth of six educational television programs aired by the NAP on national TV! He was chairman of the committee that rewrote the parliamentary law training manual for Toastmasters International. He also wrote a book “Parliamentary Procedure: Essential Principles” which is currently out of print. He was an Army officer and married with one daughter, Patricia Ryan Ashlaw, an active member of the M. Stanley Ryan unit who served admirably as a parliamentarian until her passing.